Thanks Rezinate for sharing this..

Rezinate's Blog

 
I thought I might blog this about a tradition and a people that fascinate me. They live in an extreme environment and yet have thrived.

They face many of the same problems other nations do that “contact” has produced-yet they remain, they endure.

Inuit throat singers-I’ve actually seen and heard this type of singing performed-and what is of interest to me is that it is traditional form of singing among Mongolians as well, though in a somewhat different form.

That speaks to me of either a cultural exchange or heritage.

The Inuit were the first people of this hemisphere to have contact with Europeans in the form of the Vikings in the fourteenth century,and are recorded in the Norse sagas.

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Inuit_throat_singing

www.youtube.com/watch?v=8IqOegVCNKI

www.youtube.com/watch?v=qnGM0BlA95I

View original post

  • psiberrealm archive

  • Member of The Internet Defense League

  • Blog Stats

    • 22,883 hits
  • September 2012
    S M T W T F S
    « Aug   Oct »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    30